Yorkshire 3 Peaks - Solo

The forum to discuss the Yorkshire 3 Peaks Challenge
pjbennett

Yorkshire 3 Peaks - Solo

Post by pjbennett » 14 Dec 2011, 21:24

Hello

Next Spring, I plan to complete the Yorkshire 3 Peaks Challenge in memory of my baby niece. I would like to complete the challenge alone rather than with a group. My fitness levels are good (I am a Personal Trainer) and I will undertake a training programme prior to the walk. My main concern revolves around the fact that, in my naivety, I thought that the walk would be sign posted! Since looking deeper into the walk, I'm seeing more mention of compasses, maps and GPS! I was never much of a boy scout! Please could you advise me as to the depth of knowledge and equipment I would need to navigate the walk safely.

Many thanks

Phil

three peaks

Re: Yorkshire 3 Peaks - Solo

Post by three peaks » 17 Dec 2011, 14:28

Generally speaking its not a good idea to walk in the hills alone. But assuming you are going to do it there are a few things to make the walk safer and more enjoyable over and above the usual advice. Most of this applies to groups, but is doubly important on your own.
  • Learn the route. There a plenty of good books, maps, DVDs etc to familiarise yourself with the route. If the weather comes in or you have problems it will help you get to safety fast. A GPS would obviously be great if you can stretch to one, but don't rely solely on it.
  • Take a torch and whistle, mobile etc to attract attention.
  • Support 'crew'. Leave someone sat in a cafe who knows when you set off and are expected back. Ideally they can meet you at various points near the roads. Contact them when you have a mobile signal and update them on your progress.
  • Check the weather. Depending on what you mean by 'spring' - wintery weather on your own is not good so postpone the walk.